Red Nation Film Festival — Los Angeles' Premiere Native American Film Festival

Special Tribute Awards

Red Nation Tribute Award

Every year, Red Nation Film Festival A Night of Tribute Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles CA, is held and part of  American Indian Heritage Month in November, honors accomplishments of Independent Motion Pictures and Documentaries, which are produced, directed, written, and starring American Indians. Honorees include individuals who have made advancements in film, radio, television, media, environment, social justice, human rights, career accomplishments in the arts, volunteerism, and cultural affairs.

Each year a “Red Nation Drum” is given to individuals who use their voice and put themselves out there to make a difference.  The drum represents the Heart beat of all living beings.   Each recipient is given this gift in honor and recognition of the hard work they do on behalf of American Indian’s in media, social justice, and the arts.

2012 TRIBUTE AWARDS recipients:

Brando Award > Johnny Depp

Red Nation Activists Award > Shepard Fairy

Red Nation Vision Award > Aaron Huey

Red Nation Humanitarian Award > Daniel Sheehan and Sara Nelson

Red Nation “Oyate” Award > Connie Stevens

American Indian Heritage Month Award > Ernie Stevens Jr

2011 TRIBUTE AWARDS recipients:

to be posted soon.

2010 TRIBUTE AWARDS recipients:

American Indian Heritage Month Award > California Native American Heritage Commission, Larry Meyers, Dave Singleton

Red Nation Vision Award > Chief Oren Lyons – Oren Lyons (Wolf Clan-Onondaga), Faithkeeper and world spokesperson for the rights of indigenous peoples

Edward Albert Jr Indigenous Film Award > Oliver Stone (Director)

Brando Award > Vicangelo Bulluck, NAACP

Best Network Award > ABC DISNEY

Red Nation Humanitarian Award > Dr. Jane Goodall

Red Nation Community Award > Ken Taylor, American Indian Revival Church

Red Nation Activists Award > Joe Brings Plenty – Chairman Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation

Red Nation “Oyate” Award > Elizabeth & Dennis Kucinich

Red Nation Theatre Playwright Award > Tim Robbins (Actor/Activist)


• Red Nation Vision Award– In Loving Memory to Michael Jackson “Black or White”

• Edward Albert Jr Indigenous Film Award – Edward James Olmos, Actor

• Brando Award – Joe Berlinger, director of Crude

• Best Network Award – CBS Corporation, Josie Thomas Head of Diversity Senior VP

• Television Heritage Media Award – James Ramos, San Manuel Tribe

• Red Nation Theatre Playwright Award – Richard Montoya, Culture Clash

• Red Nation Humanitarian Award – Leonard Peltier, Activist

• Red Nation Activists Award – Atossa Soltani, Director of Amazon Watch

• Red Nation Community Award – Christine Padilla, Community Volunteer Lakota Nation

In previous year’s 1995 – 2008; The Tribute Award Honorees have included:

President Barak Obama

New Mexico Governor Bill Richardson

Marlon Brando

George Burdeau -Director

Edward Albert Jr.– Commissioner of the California Native Heritage Commission

TNT Network

Pechanga Tribe

President Joe Garcia of National Congress of American Indian

Alvin Warren-Secretary of Department of Indian Affairs NM

Katherine M. Saubel- Commissioner of the California Native Heritage Commission

Lisa Strout-Director of New Mexico Film Office

American Indian Ironworkers of NYC

Richard Brown-Toys R Us

John Funmaker-American Indian Community Leader

Fox Diversity Corporation

Tom Bee–S.O.A.R. Records

Mike Smith–American Indian Film Festival & Institute

Edward Albert Jr. – Actor/Environmental Activist

Montano Rain – Help the Earth Environmental Youth Empowerment Organization

Copyright © All rights reserved.